top of page


TG4, 2015-2021

Red Shoe Productions transformed the Gradam Ceoil from a pre-recorded concert to a two hour live TV broadcast. We successfully produced the Gradam Ceoil for five years, 2015 - 2017 from the Cork Opera House, and then moving to the Waterfront in Belfast in 2018, a bold and adventurous move that has seen the unification of traditional musicians both North and South of the Border.

Highlights include more than 100 musicians taking to the stage during the live show, surprising an award recipient with a video recording from international stars Linda Ronstadt and Emmy Lou Harris and contributing to cross-community relations in Northern Ireland,  Traditional music legends from all over Ireland, London, Paris, Madrid, Edinburgh and New York arrive annually to enjoy what is known as the "Oscars" of traditional Irish Music. 


Our living tradition is renowned across the world as a core element of Ireland’s identity and image as a creative and cultural nation. Gradam Ceoil TG4 was established in 1998 to honour, celebrate and give due appreciation to outstanding performers, composers, singers, collectors and others who play a prominent role in this most vibrant and accessible of Irish traditions. Here in Ireland and further afield, Gradam Ceoil TG4 is now acknowledged as the premier national traditional music event and the jewel in the traditional music calendar which takes the form of an annual gala concert and awards ceremony to celebrate the crème de la crème of Irish traditional music and song. Complimenting the awards ceremony, the Fringe Events Calendar has grown and provides a family weekend of events and workshops, with contributions from industry and music experts.

To date, the biggest and best-known Irish and international names in traditional music have been awarded and/or performed at the Gradam Ceoil – Paul Brady, Liam O’Flynn, Martin Hayes, Dónal Lunny, Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh, Tríona Ní Dhomhnaill, Catherine McEvoy, Brendan Mulkere

2020 Recipients 

Gradam Ceoil TG4 20120 Laoise Kelly 

Ceoltóir Óg TG4 2020 Sharon Howley

Gradam Comadoir na Bliana 2020 Josephine Marsh  

Gradam Saoil 2020 Séamus Connolly

Gradam Comaoine 2020 Ned Kelly 

Amhránaí TG4 2020 Lillis Ó Laoire 

2019 Recipients 

Gradam Ceoil TG4 2019 Catherine McEvoy

Ceoltóir Óg TG4 2019 Conor Connolly

Gradam Comharcheoil 2019 Tríona Ní Dhomhnaill

Gradam Saoil 2019 Nicky and Anne McAuliffe

Gradam Comaoine 2019 Brendan Mulkere

Amhránaí TG4 2019 Thomas McCarthy

2018 Recipients 

Gradam Ceoil TG4 2018 Frankie Gavin

Ceoltóir Óg TG4 2018 Claire Friel

Gradam Comharcheoil 2018 Maura O'Keeffe

Gradam Saoil 2018 Patsy Hanly

Gradam Comaoine 2018 Pádraigín Ní Uallacháin

Amhránaí TG4 2018 Máire Ní Chéilleachair

2017 Recipients 

Gradam Ceoil TG4 2017 Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh

Ceoltóir Óg TG4 2017 Liam O' Brien

Gradam an Chumadóra / Comharcheoil 2017 Michael Rooney

Gradam Saoil 2017 Donal Lunny

Gradam Comaoine 2017 Mick O Connor

Amhránaí TG4 2017 Rita Gallagher


bottom of page